Leedon Lower School

Home Page

Leedon Lower School

'Learning Without Limits'



Early Years Foundation Stage

Early Years Foundation Stage

The EYFS was introduced in 2008 to replace the Birth to 3 Matters, Foundation Stage and National Care Standards and bring them all together. It sets the standards for learning, development and care for children from birth to five. It was reviewed in 2011 and the revised EYFS covers the following areas of learning:


The Prime Areas

Personal, social and emotional development:

This area concentrates on a child’s personal development, their self-awareness, managing feelings and their relationships with others.


Communication and language:

This area looks at a child’s speaking and listening skills and their understanding of instructions.


Physical development:

This area encourages children to develop their ability for movement, co‑ordination, control and manipulation of themselves and objects, together with the importance of physical exercise.


The Specific Areas


This area covers a child’s early reading and writing skills.



This area promotes children’s numeracy, number recognition, shapes, counting and the use of mathematical language and concepts.


Understanding the world:

This area looks at a child’s understanding of people and communities, the world around them and ICT.


Expressive arts and design:

This area explores activities using a child’s imagination and includes art, music, role play, dance and imaginative play.


We will ensure that all children have the opportunity to develop in these areas by using them as guidelines to create our curriculum of activities.


At the heart of the EYFS is that ‘every child matters’ and we aim to uphold that philosophy at Leedon’s Little Learners.